The Kalamazoo Promise

Work hard in school. Graduate! Earn a Promise Scholarship. Be successful in life!

The Kalamazoo Promise is the only scholarship of its kind. The program provides resident graduates of the Kalamazoo Public Schools with to up 100 percent of their tuition and mandatory fees for four years at Michigan's public universities and community colleges and the 15 private colleges associated with the Michigan Colleges Alliance. [1].


All students who graduate from KPS, are residing in the district, and have been KPS students four years or more. (Enrollment and residency must be continuous.)

Extent of Benefits

The tuition benefit will be graduated on the basis of length of attendance in the Kalamazoo Public School system.

Years Attended Scholarship
K-12 100%
1-12 95%
2-12 95%
3-12 95%
4-12 90%
5-12 85%
6-12 80%
7-12 75%
8-12 70%
9-12 65%
10-12 None
11-12 None
12-12 None

Terms of Scholarship

  1. Admitted to and enrolled at any public State of Michigan university or community college or one of the 15 private colleges associated with the Michigan Colleges Alliance and:
    1. Making regular progress toward a degree or certification
    2. Maintaining a 2.0 grade point average at the post-secondary institution
    3. Completing a minimum of 12 credit hours
  2. If the GPA drops below 2.0, a student may be reinstated if he/she is able to bring their GPA back to at least a 2.0.

10 Things You Need to Know!

1. The Kalamazoo Promise is for ALL students of the

Kalamazoo Public Schools, but only for KPS students.

Students that attend charter schools do not earn credit toward Kalamazoo Promise scholarships during

the time that they are in these non-KPS schools.

2. You must reside within the boundaries of KPS.

3. You must have at least all of the high school years

(9-12) in KPS (enrollment & residency must be

continuous) and graduate from KPS

(Central / Loy Norrix / Phoenix).

4. The Kalamazoo Promise will not end.

5. The Kalamazoo Promise is a 4-year scholarship

(a bachelor degree or 130 credits, whichever

occurs first).

6. You have ten years from the time you graduate from

high school to use your Promise and can start and stop any time.

7. The Kalamazoo Promise covers tuition and

mandatory fees.

8. Students sign up for The Kalamazoo Promise at the

beginning of their senior year. Meetings are held for

all seniors each fall. There are two simple forms to fill out for The Kalamazoo Promise.

9. There is an appeal process for students during their

senior year, especially for hardship cases (e.g., custody, death in the family, and foster care placement).

10. All students using The Kalamazoo Promise at KVCC

may attend part-time.


Contact The Kalamazoo Promise

Bob Jorth, Executive Administrator
125 W. Exchange Place
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
(269) 337-0037

Promise Eligible Schools

Any of the following post-secondary institutions are eligible for use of The Kalamazoo Promise.

• Adrian College (MCA)

• Albion College (MCA)

• Alma College (MCA)

• Alpena Community College

• Andrews University (MCA)

• Aquinas College (MCA)

• Bay de Noc Community College

• Calvin College(MCA)

• Central Michigan University

• Delta College

• Eastern Michigan University

• Ferris State University

• Glen Oaks Community College

• Gogebic Community College

• Grand Rapids Community College

• Grand Valley State University • Great Lakes Maritime College —Division of

Northwestern Michigan College

• Henry Ford Community College • Hillsdale College (MCA)

• Hope College (MCA)

• Jackson Community College

• Kalamazoo College (MCA)

• Kalamazoo Electrical JATC (Apprenticeship)

• Kalamazoo Valley Community College • Kellogg Community College

• Kendall College of Art & Design of Ferris State University

• Kirtland Community College • Lake Michigan College

• Lake Superior State University

• Lansing Community College

• Macomb Community College

• Madonna University (MCA)

• Marygrove College (MCA)

• Michigan Career and Technical Institute*

• Michigan State University

• Michigan Technological University

• Mid Michigan Community College

• Monroe County Community College

• Montcalm Community College

• Mott Community College

• Muskegon Community College

• North Central Michigan College • Northern Michigan University

• Northwestern Michigan College

• Oakland Community College

• Oakland University

• Olivet College (MCA)

• Saginaw Valley State University

• Schoolcraft College

• Southwestern Michigan College

• St. Clair County Community College

• Siena Heights University (MCA)

• Spring Arbor University (MCA)

• University of Detroit Mercy (MCA)

• University of Michigan

• University of Michigan Dearborn • University of Michigan Flint

• Washtenaw Community College

• Wayne County Community College

• Wayne State University

• West Shore Community College

• Western Michigan University

*Students attending the Michigan Career and Technical Institute (MCTI) will only be awarded in the event that the

State of Michigan does not cover their tuition and fees.