Excelsior LIVE - District News
KPS Programmers Log Wins
Linda Mah
/ Categories: Communications

KPS Programmers Log Wins

Students Participate in KAMSC Computing Program

Kalamazoo Public Schools students took home honors again this year as part of the Kalamazoo Area Mathematics and Science Center’s computer science teams.

The teams are coached by KAMSC computer science teacher Shannon Houtrouw. 

Kalamazoo Public Schools students won several awards at the University of Michigan Dearborn CS & Engineering Experience.

Loy Norrix High School seniors Vaughn Taylor and Lachlan Woods placed first in Computer Simulation. Each received $500.

Griffin Abbott, a junior from Loy Norrix, placed first (along with a KAMSC classmate) in Game Design. He won $500.

Loy Norrix Senior Addison Krueger placed fourth (along with a KAMSC classmate) in Robotics.

Taylor and fellow Loy Norrix senior Ava Wood were on the team that took third place overall at the Saginaw Valley State University ACM High School Programming Contest.

Wood, Taylor, Woods, and Loy Norrix junior Abigail Guimond were part of an 11-member KAMSC team that traveled to the American Computer Science League All Star International Invitational in Los Angeles in May. Wood and Taylor were part of a team that took third place overall in the senior division. 

"That puts them on par with some of the best KAMSC CS teams ever," Houtrouw said. 

Woods was the team's top individual scorer in the computer math contest with a near perfect score. 

The ACSL All-Star team practiced every weekend for weeks. Team members competed against the best high school programming teams across the United States, Canada and Eastern Europe. Houtrouw said. 

Several students also received honors from the National Center for Women & Information Technology Aspiration in Computing Awards. National honorable mentions went to Wood and Julia Kemple-Johnson, a junior at Kalamazoo Central. Wood, Kemple-Johnson and Guimond were state finalists. State honorable mentions went to Central junior Julia Naranjo. State certificates of distinction went to Loy Norrix sophomore Tiana Boyd and Norrix senior Ashley Bynum.


The University of Michigan Dearborn KPS-KAMSC team members were: front row, (L to R) Abigail Guimond, Julia Naranjo, Samuel Ratliff, and Ava Wood; back row Kevin Mitchell, Alex Vonhoff, Griffin Abbott, Lachlan Woods, Vaughn Taylor, and Addison Krueger.
Previous Article KPS Hiring Bus Drivers
Next Article Arcadia Wins Reading Challenge

Please login or register to post comments.